1. Learn about designated areas

Designated areas are based on the number of French-speaking residents. Usually, in a designated area, at least 10% of the population speaks French. And in cities and other urban centres, there must usually be at least 5,000 people who speak French.

Other areas may be designated because a large group of French people work in the area and their community supports their wish to be a designated area. This is how Kingston became a designated area.

There are 26 designated areas in Ontario that must provide services in French. These are:

  1. City of Toronto
  2. City of Hamilton – as boundaries existed on Dec. 31, 2000
  3. Cities of Port Colborne and Welland in Regional Municipality of Niagara
  4. City of Ottawa
  5. Cities of Mississauga and Brampton – Regional Municipality of Peel
  6. Sudbury – city and greater Sudbury area
  7. Township of Winchester – Dundas County
  8. Essex County:
    • City of Windsor
    • Towns of Belle River and Tecumseh
    • Townships of Anderdon, Colchester North, Maidstone, Sandwich South, Sandwich West, Tilbury North, Tilbury West and Rochester
  9. Glengarry County
  10. Kent County:
    • Town of Tilbury
    • Townships of Dover and Tilbury East
  11. Prescott County
  12. Renfrew County:
    • City of Pembroke
    • Townships of Stafford and Westmeath
  13. Russell County
  14. Simcoe County
    • Town of Penetanguishene
    • Townships of Tiny and Essa
  15. Stormont County
  16. District of Algoma
  17. District of Cochrane
  18. Township of Ignace in District of Kenora
  19. District of Nipissing
  20. District of Sudbury
  21. District of Thunder Bay
    • Towns of Geraldton, Longlac and Marathon
    • Townships of Manitouwadge, Beardmore, Nakina and Terrace Bay
  22. District of Timiskaming
  23. City of London
  24. Municipality of Callander in District of Parry Sound
  25. City of Kingston
  26. City of Markham (starting July 1, 2018) in Regional Municipality of York
Hide this website